How we are run

Governing Documents

Our governing documents are our Royal Charter which we were granted in 1751, our Statutes  and our Standing Orders. Our governance documents were modernised in 2015 and revised in 2020.

A list of our updated Governance Documents including all Orders can be found below.

Patron and Royal Fellows

HRH The Duke of Gloucester has been the Society’s Patron since 2001.

The Society’s Royal Fellows are Her Most Gracious Majesty Queen Elizabeth II, His Royal Highness the Prince of Wales, Her Majesty the Queen of Denmark and His Royal Highness the Duke of Gloucester.

Council may propose as Royal Fellows any member of the royal families of any country without ballot. Royal Fellows pay no subscription and ‘have no voice in the management of the Society’.


Council 2020

The Society’s Trustees are collectively known as its Council and are elected from the Fellowship. Council usually meets four times a year to decide matters of policy and to review and agree recommendations of the Advisory Committees and Officers.

Elections to Council take place at the Anniversary Meeting, the high point in the Society’s calendar held on St George’s Day or the most convenient weekday adjacent to 23 April.

At least one third of the members of Council must retire and replacements be elected at each Anniversary Meeting.

Current (2022-23) members of Council:

  • Martin Millett, DPhil, FBA (President) Chair
  • Stephen Dunmore, OBE, BA (Treasurer)
  • John Cooper, DPhil, FRHistS (Director)
  • Heather Sebire, PhD, MCIfA, FSAScot (Hon Secretary)
  • John Hines, MA, DPhil (Vice-President)
  • Robert Bewley, BA, MPhil, PhD
  • Victoria Bryant, BA, MA, MClFA
  • Nathalie Cohen, BA, MA
  • Emily Cole, BA, MA, DPhil
  • Timothy Schroder, MA, DLitt
  • Rosemary Sweet, MA, DPhil
  • Simon Kaner, MA, PhD
  • Ann MacSween, MA, MA, MSc, PhD, MCIfA, FSA Scot

To can read more about our Trustees here.

You can contact our Officers on their dedicated Society email addresses.

President: [email protected]
Director: [email protected]
Treasurer: [email protected]
Hon Secretary: [email protected]


Our Committees assist Council with the management of specific areas of the Society’s business:

  • Publications
  • Finance
  • Research
  • Policy
  • Library and Collections
  • Morris
  • Kelmscott
  • Fellowship
  • Ethical Conduct Body

You can download our current Committee Terms of Reference, view our list of Committee members on the Committees page, and see the schedule of Committee Meetings.

Annual Reviews

Our annual review is a summary of how we work to achieve our charitable objectives. Find out more about the highlights of last year in our Annual Review 2020-21 [PDF]

You can find last year’s review here. Annual Review 2019-20 [PDF]

Statutory Accounts

Watch a recording of the 2020/21 Financial Presentation by our Treasurer Stephen Dunmore FSA.

Read our 2019/20 Statutory Accounts or watch a recording of the 2019/20 Financial Presentation by our Treasurer Stephen Dunmore FSA.

Minutes from Council

Minutes from Council – March 2021

Minutes from Council – 2020

Recent Governance Documents