Cultural Heritage as the Target and Victim of War: First-hand reports from Ukraine

YouTube logo

All of our lectures are live streamed and are open to anyone to join us online, Fellows and Non-Fellows.

To view any of our past lectures please visit our YouTube channel.

Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Cultural Heritage as the Target and Victim of War: First-hand reports from Ukraine

February 14, 2023 @ 10:00 am - 3:30 pm

CONFERENCE

Cultural Heritage as the Target and Victim of War: First-hand reports from Ukraine

Organised by Professor John Hines, Vice President and Dr Heather Sebire, Honorary Secretary.

This one-day symposium is an opportunity to our colleagues working in the heritage sector in Ukraine to provide first-hand information to an international English-speaking audience about the damage inflicted in the course of the war started by invasion of February 2022 ordered by Vladimir Putin. We hope to gain greater insight into the current situation, and to identify ways in which real practical help can be given.

At present we anticipate seven individual papers reporting on impacts in specific geographical areas and on particular fields of historical and archaeological evidence. There will also be a keynote lecture on the national museum sector in a state of war, and a final panel discussion.

Program for the day:

10am GMT / 12pm EET: Arrival, tea & coffee to be served

10.30am GMT / 12.30pm EET: Dr Vsevolod Ivakin, Head of the Monitoring Expedition of the Institute of Archaeology, the National Academy of Sciences of Ukraine and Professor Pavlo Shydlovskyi, Associate Professor at the Department of Archaeology and Museology, Taras Shevchenko National University of Kyiv, the Ukrainian State Institute for Cultural Heritage and Viacheslav Skorokhod, Senior researcher at the Department of Ancient Rus and Medieval Archaeology of the Institute of Archaeology, the National Academy of Sciences of Ukraine

Peculiarities of monitoring the state of damaged archaeological landscapes in Kyiv and Chernihiv regions (Ukraine) during the war

10.50am GMT / 12.50pm EET: Mykhailo Videiko, Faculty member at the Research Laboratory of Archaeology, Borys Grinchenko Kyiv University

Kyiv Regional Archaeological Museum: life and work from February to December 2022

11.10am GMT / 1.10pm EET: Professor Oleksandr Symonenko, Chief Research Fellow, Early Iron Age Department, Institute of Archaeology Ukraine National Academy of Sciences

The Destruction of Archaeological Sites in the Kherson Region

11.30am GMT / 1.30pm EET: Professor Dmytro Kiosak, Department of Archaeology and Ethnology of Ukraine, Odessa National University, and Dr Anzhelika Kolesnychenko, Institute of Archaeology, National Academy of Sciences of Ukraine

Kardashynsky bog and Yahorlyk settlement: the projects interrupted by Russian invasion

11.50am GMT / 1.50pm EET: Simon Radchenko, Ukrainian Ph.D. student at the University of Turin, Italy

The unknown and endangered rock art site of Kamyana Mohyla in the currently occupied part of South-Eastern Ukraine

12.10pm GMT / 2.10pm EET: Dr Kyrylo Myzgin, Scientific adjunct at the Faculty of Archaeology, University of Warsaw

Three sides of the coin? Ancient numismatics in Ukraine during the war

12.30pm GMT / 2.30pm EET: Maria Blyzinsky, Heritage Consultant, Curator Emeritus, Royal Museums Greenwich Ukraine Advisor, ICOM UK

ICOM Emergency Red List for Ukraine

12.40pm GMT / 2.40pm EET: Lunch (provided)

2pm GMT / 4pm EET: KEYNOTE ADDRESS by Dr Fëdir Androshchuk, Director of the National Museum of the History of Ukraine

The Museum in a State of War

2.30-3.30pm GMT / 4.30-5.30om EET: Panel discussion chaired by Heather Sebire FSA and John Hines FSA

Contributions from:

Professor Eszter Bánffy FSA, the president of the European Association of Archaeologists

Krista Pikkat, Director of the Culture and Emergencies Entity at UNESCO

Professor Peter Stone, United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) chair in Cultural Property Protection and Peace at Newcastle University

Jan Turek, Researcher at the Center for Theoretical Study, Charles University, Prague


This event will be both in person at Burlington House and online. Please select the appropriate ticket below.

If you have any questions, please contact us at [email protected]

Get tickets online

Details

Date:
February 14, 2023
Time:
10:00 am - 3:30 pm

Venue

Society of Antiquaries of London
Burlington House, Piccadilly
London, W1J 0BE United Kingdom
+ Google Map
Phone
020 7479 7080