22 May Ballot Results

On 22 May the following Fellows were elected:

  1. Abraham Thomas, BSc. Director, Sir John Soane’s Museum (formerly curator of designs and architectural drawings at the V&A; has published important work on 19th-century and modern designers and on architectural history).
  2. Sadie Gwen Watson, BSc, MA. Project Officer, Museum of London Archaeology (has long experience on complex, multi-period sites in London, mostly Roman and medieval, on which she has published and lectured).
  3. Frances Pritchard, LLB. Curator of Textiles, Whitworth Art Gallery, Manchester (distinguished textile historian who has published on finds from late Saxon and medieval London, Viking Dublin and early Islamic Egypt).
  4. Patrick Trafford Allen, BA. Archaeologist, Essex County Council (has worked on Roman, late Saxon and medieval sites in London and more recently in Essex, on which he has published regularly).
  5. Crispin Paine, BA, MA. Museums and heritage consultant (has provided strategic and development plans for national and local organisations in the UK and abroad, directed courses in museum studies and written several books on heritage matters).
  6. Carol Anderson, BA. Head of Oxfordshire County Museum Service (started her career teaching archaeology in schools and has run many Young Archaeologists Clubs; has published archaeological acquisitions for the Oxfordshire Museum Service).
  7. Edward Anthony Smith, BSc, MSc. Retired Under Master and Archivist, Westminster School and Keeper of the Sanctuary, Westminster Abbey (has published extensively on the history and buildings of Westminster School).
  8. Akira Matsuda, BA, MA, MA, PhD. Lecturer, University of E Anglia (lectures on Japanese art and archaeology, public archaeology, heritage and museum studies; Secretary-elect of the World Archaeological Congress).
  9. Andrew Long, BA, MLitt. Consultant archaeologist and heritage project manager (has worked in the UK and Australia; has special expertise in Australian Aboriginal heritage).
  10. Richard Walter John Montagu Douglas Scott, Duke of Buccleuch and Queensberry, KBE, DL. Past President of the National Trust for Scotland (actively involved in cultural heritage conservation and education, with a scholarly interest in the Grand Tour, musicology and archives).