The Society is governed by its Royal Charter (granted in 1751) and Statutes. The following documents reflect revisions to the Charter and Statutes that were passed by an unopposed majority of Fellows at the Extraordinary General Meeting held on 3 December 2015, and formally approved by the Privy Council on 10 February 2016.

Recent Governance Documents

Patron and Royal Fellows

HRH The Duke of Gloucester kindly agreed to become the Society’s Patron in 2001.

The Society’s Royal Fellows are Her Most Gracious Majesty Queen Elizabeth II, His Royal Highness The Prince of Wales, Her Majesty The Queen of Denmark and His Royal Highness The Duke of Gloucester.

Council may propose as Royal Fellows any member of the royal families of any country without ballot. Royal Fellows pay no subscription and ‘have no voice in the management of the Society’.


The Society is a Registered Charity (no. 207237) under the Charities Act.  Members of Council are the Society's Trustees, and are elected from the Fellowship. Council usually meets four times a year to decide matters of policy and to review and agree recommendations of the Advisory Committees and Officers. Five members form a quorum.

Anniversary Election

The election of the Society’s Council is governed by Section 4 of the Statutes and takes place at the Anniversary Meeting, the high point in the Society’s calendar held on St George’s Day or the most convenient week day adjacent to 23 April.

At least one third of the members of Council must retire and replacements be elected at each Anniversary Meeting.

If you have questions regarding governance or Fellowship, please email